Stained Glass Jars

I am working on making myself an office space at home. Yay! Finally my own space so I don’t have to create art on the kitchen table. Anyways, my office space creation lead me to needing containers to hold pencils, and paint brushes in which lead me to trying out the trend of staining glass jars.

.

 1.StainedGlassJars

.

I started by gathering all my ingredients complete with CLEAN jars ready for the transformation. Then I mixed up mod podge with a little water. I would say the ratio was about 1:2. and then mixed in the food coloring to get the color I was going for.

.

2.StainedGlassJarsMix

.

After mixing I  poured the mixture into the jars (one at a time) and swirled it around to insure a good coating.

.

3.StainedGlassJarCoating

.

When each jar was done I placed it upside down on some cardboard so that the excess could run out.

.

4.GlassStainedJarsUpsidedown

.

I left the bottles alone for about 45 minutes to allow the excess mixture to slide out.

.

5.Glass StainedJarsOventime

.

Then I pulled the jars off of the cardboard and flipped them right side up on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

.

6.GlassStainedJarsExcess

.

I put them in a 200 degree oven for about 40 minutes. You will know they are finished when they are a clear and there are very few (if any) streaks.

.

8.FinishedGlassStainedJars

.

Mine turned out MUCH lighter than I was going for. I think that was because I mixed the mod podge with water. That had to be my mistake. However, over all I think they are cute.

.

Melanie

 

Leave a comment